Driving Instructor Training Costs
A clear breakdown of what is included, what is paid separately, and the likely total cost of qualifying as an approved driving instructor.
Complete Cost Transparency
We believe you should understand the full financial commitment before you begin. Our programme may appear more expensive upfront than some advertised alternatives, but we show clearly what is included and what remains payable separately.
Just as importantly, you are not tied into a lengthy contract or a compulsory car-leasing arrangement with Driving Skills Academy. If you join the ongoing Academy arrangement, only four weeks’ notice is required if you decide to leave. You can make an informed comparison based on the complete costs and commitments, not simply the headline price.
Programme Costs
The initial programme, payment option and trainee-licence development stage are shown separately below.
Before signing any agreement, you will meet the trainer who will work with you so that you can ask questions and make sure the relationship feels right.
Initial 40-Hour Programme
Includes 40 hours of structured ADI training covering Part 2 driving ability and Part 3 instructional ability, IDEA Level 5, trainer support, mentoring, progress planning and readiness guidance.
£2,995
Price checked on live website: 27 July 2026
Payment Option
Pay the initial programme price in full or spread it across five equal payments.
5 × £599
Price checked on live website: 27 July 2026
Trainee-Licence Development
A separate 20 hours of structured development training during the first three months on a trainee licence. All 20 hours are delivered one-to-one with your trainer.
£50 per hour
£1,000 total
Price checked on live website: 27 July 2026
How the Initial 40 Hours Work
The initial 40 structured training hours cover:
- ADI Part 2 driving ability
- ADI Part 3 instructional ability
- Individual progress reviews and readiness planning
IDEA Level 5, trainer support and ongoing mentoring are included. The separate 20-hour trainee-licence development programme is not included in the £2,995 price.
External Application, Test and Registration Fees
These fees are paid separately and are not collected by Driving Skills Academy.
Fees checked on GOV.UK: 27 July 2026
| External fee | Current price |
|---|---|
| Driving-instructor DBS application | £5.40 |
| ADI Part 1 theory test | £81 |
| ADI Part 2 driving-ability test | £111 |
| Six-month trainee licence, if used | £140 |
| ADI Part 3 instructional-ability test | £111 |
| First ADI registration certificate | £300 |
Official fees can change. Check the current GOV.UK ADI fee schedule before applying.
Estimated Complete Financial Commitment
Qualify Without a Trainee Licence
£3,603.40
Price checked: 27 July 2026
DSA Trainee-Licence Route
£4,743.40
Price checked: 27 July 2026
Includes the separate 20-hour development programme and trainee-licence fee.
These totals assume one attempt at each test. Retests, additional training, travel and other personal expenses are not included. DVSA and external fees can change.
Compare the Complete Commitment — Not Just the Headline Fee
We are completely transparent about the likely cost of qualifying. Our initial programme may not have the lowest headline price, but you can see the training, statutory fees and commercial commitment before signing anything.
All displayed price inputs were checked on live provider or GOV.UK websites on 27 July 2026.
Driving Skills Academy
£4,743.40
Price checked on live website: 27 July 2026
Fully itemised complete route
£2,995 initial programme
£1,000 one-to-one trainee-licence development
£748.40 current statutory fees
DR1VE / DRIVE
£7,445.40+
Price checked on live website: 27 July 2026
Modelled known minimum
£1,299 full-payment course
£99 a week for 52 weeks
£250 published administration fee
£748.40 current statutory fees
Vehicle, insurance and dual-control costs remain separate where needed.
AA AcademyDrive
£21,465.40
Price checked on live website: 27 July 2026
Published “from” known minimum
£2,349 AcademyDrive course
£231 a week for 78 weeks
£180 administration fee and £170 deposit
£748.40 current statutory fees
The 18-month partner package includes a branded insured vehicle and business support.
£2,702 lower than DR1VE’s modelled known minimum
£16,722 lower than AA AcademyDrive’s known minimum
What Are You Actually Committing To?
| Comparison point | Driving Skills Academy | DR1VE / DRIVE | AA AcademyDrive |
|---|---|---|---|
| Practical / live training | 60 scheduled hours | Up to 76 face-to-face hours advertised; material two-to-one and virtual delivery | Eight in-car days, 50 peer-to-peer hours and up to 30 extra hours |
| Trainee-licence development | All 20 hours delivered one-to-one | 12 in-car hours plus compulsory virtual support in the published terms | Up to 30 extra hours; one-to-one ratio not stated publicly |
| Additional formal qualification | IDEA Award — SCQF Level 5, 25 credits | No separate levelled candidate award found | No separate levelled candidate award found |
| Commercial commitment | No lengthy franchise or compulsory car lease; four weeks’ notice for ongoing support | 12-month published minimum term for the modelled support arrangement | 18-month partner package with automatic franchise conversion |
| Meet your trainer before signing | Yes | Not stated publicly | Not stated publicly |
How this comparison was calculated: Figures include the provider’s lowest stated full-payment course price, compulsory published support or franchise payments used in the model, one attempt at each DVSA test, the trainee licence, first ADI registration and the current £5.40 GOV.UK DBS fee. Travel, retests, missed sessions, finance costs and lost earnings are excluded. DR1VE vehicle-related costs remain separate where needed. AA uses its published “from” rate. AcademyVR, online-only options and providers without enough public pricing for a fair total are not shown.
Sources checked 27 July 2026: DR1VE course price, DR1VE support price, DR1VE published terms and fee document, AA AcademyDrive training, AA Trainee Partner Franchise, GOV.UK ADI fees and GOV.UK DBS fee.
Talk Through the Complete Training Route
Book an information call to discuss eligibility, training schedules, payment options and whether the trainee-licence route fits your plans.
